AMF 2016 Demographics Topic

BleuPanda
Higher Ground

AMF 2016 Demographics Topic

Post by BleuPanda »

It's been over a year since the last one had a new post, so I figured it would be best to start fresh, give everyone a chance to give an update on their lives and to let new members introduce themselves.

My name in real life is Topher (short for Christopher, and yes, I'm pretentious enough to not go with Chris (I don't like having a monosyllabic name...))...anyway. I currently work an office job, while also spending a lot of my free time writing. My majors in college (I graduated about a year ago) were Cinema Studies and Creative Writing; I finished up my first full manuscript last year, tried to sell it, still haven't gotten anywhere (not that I really expected anything from my first manuscript). I've been trying to get my second manuscript started, but I go through this phase where a hundred story ideas sound good and I don't know which to stick with...I think I found the big one, though. Everything I write is Young Adult, largely consisting of contemporary fantasies (i.e. characters in our modern world dealing with fantasy elements). Also, for some reason, every story idea that really sticks with me involves ghosts or other creatures only the protagonist can see; I think this might be because there were ideas I wanted to explore in my first manuscript that went unused.

I'm currently engaged to my partner of 3 years and 8 months, and we're planning to get married next summer. He just graduated and is entering his Master's Program next fall (continuing with Agricultural and Biological Engineering). We had a bit of trouble at the end of last year and through the early months of this one after I began to realize I am a homoromantic asexual, but we've figured things out since then. Identity is complicated (which is probably why I write young adult, since most popular works are about discovering yourself).