BleuPanda's Top 250 Song Project

BleuPanda
Higher Ground

BleuPanda's Top 250 Song Project

Post by BleuPanda »

This is essentially my 2021 follow-up to my video game project from last year:
http://www.acclaimedmusic.net/forums/vi ... f=8&t=8802

I recently decided to start writing about my favorite songs. I realized, while I have spent the last decade getting more and more into music, I have never really stopped to write down my thoughts. In many ways, I have not felt up to the task - I have no musical experience myself, so it's difficult for me to point to elements with genuine authority. I've been sharing these on another forum which is not as focused on music - I think I've convinced myself these write-ups are too inadequate to share here? But that's a stupid fear. Nothing has shaped my tastes like this website. I've always been self-conscious of my favorites because the AM list is such an obvious influence, but it's not like I can change that - I was drawn to the list because I really clicked with what I found here after years of not listening to popular music at all. And by writing about them, I feel more justified in my choices. And, what better way to improve my ability to write about music than practicing? So, here is my great practice round over my 250 favorite songs.

I'm going to post these in batches of 10 until I catch up to where I'm actually at in the project (currently #175). There also won't be any surprises - this is going through the same list I already posted in the song poll thread.

#250. The The – “This is the Day” (1983)
from the album Soul Mining

Key lyrics:
“And all your friends and family
Think that you’re lucky
But the side of you they’ll never see
Is when you’re left alone with the memories
That hold your life together like glue”